Raymond Baril is Assistant Professor of Music and Section Head of the Wind and Brass Department at MacEwan University and, for the past 27 years, he has been the director of the MacEwan jazz ensemble. Raymond is also in his sixteenth season as principal conductor and artistic director of the New Edmonton Wind Sinfonia. Prior to his appointment at MacEwan, he was a band teacher with Edmonton Public Schools, conductor of the University of Alberta Concert Band, Executive Director of the Alberta Band Association and, for fifteen seasons, worked as a conductor for the Cosmopolitan Music Society.

 Raymond continues to work as one of Edmonton’s busiest saxophonists and woodwind doublers. He was a regular member of the Tommy Banks Big Band and is currently a member of the Edmonton Jazz Orchestra. He has appeared with the Edmonton Symphony on numerous occasions as a section member and soloist, as well as a guest conductor. He also continues to be in demand as both conductor and woodwind specialist for pit orchestras in various local and touring productions. In 2005, Raymond’s ensembles released two CDs: First Time Out with the University Big Band and Among Friends with the New Edmonton Wind Sinfonia. In 2011, Wind Sinfonia released a second CD, O Music, which featured the wind band works of Edmonton composer Allan Gilliland and won a Western Canadian Music Award in 2012.

 Raymond attended Northwestern University, where he received a Master of Music degree in conducting. He holds undergraduate degrees in both music performance and education from the University of Alberta and is currently working on his Doctorate of Music degree in Saxophone Performance at the U of A. He has been the recipient of many awards for his contribution to music and music education including the Tommy Banks Award, presented by The Alberta Foundation for the Arts, and the David Peterkin Memorial Award, presented by Phi Beta Mu. He has also received the Elkhorn Award for Director of the Year by the Alberta Band Association, the Best Teaching Practices Award from the Alberta Teachers’ Association, a District Service Award from Edmonton Public Schools and an Excellence in Teaching Award from Alberta Learning.